Family

Remote work with kids

What changes when your children come too: which remote work visas take a family and what they cost, how your child will be taught, the paperwork at the border, the money from home that stops, health cover, and what we could source for families in our cities.

Checked 15 October 2026. Facts link to their sources.

Three things catch families out. In most countries schooling is compulsory for children who live there, and homeschooling is restricted or banned in some popular ones. Not every remote work visa takes a family, and many that do want more income. And benefits from home, such as UK Child Benefit and the refundable part of the US Child Tax Credit, can stop once you're abroad.

Can your family come with you?

Every remote work visa on the site: 28 of them. On 18 we found that a partner and children can come with you; on the rest they apply separately, can't come, or we couldn't find out. Where we couldn't source an answer, it says "Not checked".

VisaPartner and childrenExtra income: partnerExtra income: each childPartner can work thereSource
Europe
PortugalD8 digital nomad visa · Full guideYes, after a waitChildren under 18 can come straight away. A partner waits until you have held your residence permit for two years, or 15 months if you lived together for 18 months before you came.Not confirmed for the D8. A Brazilian visa advice site gives the general rule as EUR 460 a month.Not confirmed for the D8. The same site gives EUR 276 a month.Not checkedMCS, law firm: family reunification, May 2026, Cidadania e Visto, visa advice site, September 2026
SpainInternational telework visa · Full guideYesA partner, children and dependent parents.EUR 916 a month for the first family member, EUR 305 for each one afterEUR 916 a month for the first family member, EUR 305 for each one afterYesSpanish consulate, Houston, Spanish government: international teleworkers
GreeceDigital nomad visa · Full guideYesA spouse or civil partner and children under 18, each on their own visa.20% more: EUR 4,200 a month for a couple15% more for each childNoArticle 68, Law 5038/2023
MaltaNomad Residence Permit · Full guideYesA spouse and children can be included. Fees: EUR 300, plus EUR 100 for each family member.None setNone setNot checkedResidency Malta: FAQ, April 2026
HungaryWhite Card · Full guideNoFamily can't join you on it. The only exception is a child born in Hungary while you hold the card.Does not applyDoes not applyDoes not applyOIF: White Card
CroatiaTemporary stay of digital nomads · Full guideYesClose family through family reunification, once your own permit is granted. An unmarried partner after three years together.10% of the average monthly net salary10% of the average monthly net salaryNot checkedCroatian Interior Ministry (MUP)
GermanyFreelance residence permitYesA spouse and children under 18. A spouse must as a rule speak basic German (A1) before arriving, and the published exceptions don't name freelancers. Children of 16 or over need good German (C1) or a good integration forecast, unless they come with you.No set figure: the family's living costs must be coveredNo set figureYesBAMF: family reunification, March 2024
Czech RepublicDigital Nomad ProgramYesA spouse, registered partner and children, if they apply at the same time as you. Whether the general 15-month wait for family permits also applies is not clear.Not checkedNot checkedNot checkedCzech consulate, Los Angeles, March 2026, Czech Interior Ministry: family permits, July 2026
EstoniaDigital Nomad Visa (D)YesA spouse and children under 18 can apply on the same terms as you. Spouses are decided case by case.Not checkedNot checkedDepends on their visae-Residency, Government of Estonia, March 2026
BulgariaDigital nomad residence permitSeparatelyA law firm says your spouse and children apply separately for family reunification, with their own documents. We found no official page on it.Not checkedNot checkedNot checkedInnovires, law firm, October 2026
AlbaniaUnique Permit for digital nomadsNot checkedWe found no official page that covers family.Not checkedNot checkedNot checkedNone found
TurkeyDigital Nomad VisaNot checkedNothing we found says whether family can come, either way.Not checkedNot checkedNot checkedNone found
ItalyDigital nomad and remote worker visaYesA spouse and children under 18, through family reunification. They get a family permit that lasts as long as yours.One consulate (Johannesburg) says EUR 780 more per extra adult, without saying whether a month or a yearEUR 130 a month, the same consulate saysNot checkedMinisterial decree of 29 February 2024, art. 4, Italian consulate, Johannesburg
CyprusDigital Nomad VisaYesA spouse or civil partner and children under 18, for as long as you, each with their own permit. Whether the scheme is open is unconfirmed.None on the official pageNone on the official pageNoCyprus Civil Registry and Migration Department
The Americas
MexicoResidente Temporal · Full guideYesDependants can come. Each consulate sets its own figures.USD 1,498 a month more at the Las Vegas consulate, or the same as an average balanceThe same, for each dependantNot checkedMexican consulate, Las Vegas: 2026 requirements
ColombiaDigital nomad visa (V) · Full guideYesA spouse or partner and children apply for beneficiary visas once yours is approved.Not checkedNot checkedNot checkedCancilleria: visa FAQ
ArgentinaDigital nomad residence · Full guideNot checkedThe immigration office's pages don't cover family.Not checkedNot checkedNot checkedMigraciones: digital nomad residence, May 2026
BrazilDigital nomad visa (VITEM XIV) · Full guideSeparatelyThe rules have no family provisions, so family members apply for their own visa, usually family reunion. Ask the consulate.Their own visa's rulesTheir own visa's rulesNot checkedResolution 45 of 2021 (translation, Oliveira Lawyers)
Costa RicaDigital nomad stay · Full guideYesTax firms say a partner, unmarried children under 25 and disabled children of any age. The tax exemption doesn't cover your family.USD 4,000 a month for the whole group, against USD 3,000 alone. The tourism board's own page says USD 5,000.Covered by the group figureNot checkedCosta Rica Tourism Board (ICT): requirements, Taxes for Expats, tax firm, June 2026
PanamaRemote worker short stay visa · Full guideReported: noFragomen, a law firm, and a relocation firm say there is no route for dependants on this visa. The official requirements sheet doesn't mention family either way.Reported: no route for dependants (law firm and relocation firm; official sheet silent)Reported: no route for dependants (law firm and relocation firm; official sheet silent)Reported: no route for dependants (law firm and relocation firm; official sheet silent)Fragomen, law firm, May 2021, Relofirm, relocation firm, Servicio Nacional de Migracion: requirements
Asia
ThailandDestination Thailand Visa (DTV) · Full guideYesA spouse and children under 20 apply for their own DTV as dependants.Not checkedNot checkedNot checkedRoyal Thai Embassy, London, September 2026
IndonesiaE33G remote worker visa · Full guideSeparatelyVisa agencies say a spouse needs an E31B family visa and each child an E31E.Not checkedNot checkedNot checkedEmerhub, visa agency: E33G
MalaysiaDE Rantau Nomad Pass · Full guideYesA spouse or common-law partner, children under 18, disabled children of any age and your parents, each assessed separately.None set. RM540 processing fee eachNone set. RM540 processing fee eachNoMDEC: DE Rantau FAQ v10, August 2026
JapanDigital nomad (Designated Activities) · Full guideYesA spouse and children as dependants, on the same six-month terms.Not checkedNot checkedNot checkedImmigration Services Agency of Japan
South KoreaWorkation visa (F-1-D) · Full guideYesA spouse and children can come; the New York consulate says a legal spouse and unmarried children under 18, each with their own application. Bringing them raises your income band, whatever your age: to the top band in the Seoul metro area, the middle band outside it.No per-person figure: the household needs KRW 104.83 million a year in the Seoul area, or KRW 78.62 million outside itIncluded in that bandNot checkedEY, tax adviser: tax alert, July 2026, Korean consulate, Houston, Korean consulate, New York
TaiwanDigital Nomad Visitor Visa · Full guideSeparatelyNeither official page mentions family. One firm, Vialto Partners, says the visa doesn't allow dependants, so each family member must apply separately.Not checkedNot checkedNot checkedBureau of Consular Affairs, August 2026, National Development Council: FAQ, Vialto Partners, May 2025
Middle East and Africa
United Arab EmiratesDubai virtual work residence · Full guideYesYou can sponsor family members for the same period as your own visa.Not checkedNot checkedNot checkedGDRFA Dubai: virtual work residence
South AfricaRemote work visa · Full guideNot checkedThe official checklists don't cover family.Not checkedNot checkedNot checkedSouth African embassy, Washington: checklist

The ones that catch families out

South Korea
There is no per-person uplift. Bringing a spouse or children raises your band, whatever your age: to the top band in the Seoul metro area, KRW 104.83 million a year, and to the middle band outside it, KRW 78.62 million. On your own, from 18 to 34 and outside the Seoul area, the bar can be KRW 52.41 million. The bands changed on 30 June 2026.
Portugal
Since October 2025 a partner can join only once you have held your permit for two years. Children under 18 don't wait. Law firms say D8 holders don't get the faster route that Blue Card and Golden Visa holders keep.
Hungary
Family can't come on the White Card at all.
Greece, Cyprus and Malaysia
Your partner can come but may not work there.
Germany
A spouse must as a rule speak basic German before arriving, and teenagers of 16 or over need good German unless they move with you.

Sources: EY, tax adviser: Korea, July 2026, MCS, law firm: Portugal, May 2026, OIF: White Card, BAMF, March 2024

Check your own income against every visa, before family, in the visa checker.

School

In most countries school is compulsory for children who live there: HSLDA, a homeschooling lobby group, says a country's education laws apply to every child who lives there, citizen or not. Japan is one exception for foreign children. There are four ways to do it, and the rules on the last two vary more than most parents expect.

The four routes

Local state school
Usually free, and your child is taught in the local language alongside local children. In most of Europe, children who live there have the same right to a state school place as local children. The catch: lessons in a language your child may not speak yet. Germany, for one, may put newcomers in separate German classes first.
International school
A private school with its own curriculum: of the schools below, the British School of Valencia teaches the British curriculum and Canggu Community School is an IB World School. The catch is the cost: see the fees below, from the schools' own pages, plus one-off fees that can run to MYR 20,000 or THB 100,000.
Online school
Keeps your child on a home curriculum wherever you are, and moves with you. The catch: we found no country that says plainly whether a child who lives there may be taught by a foreign online school instead, so check the homeschooling rules too. Families based in the UK pay VAT on King's InterHigh fees.
Homeschool
The most flexible. The catch: it is restricted or not allowed in several countries remote workers choose, and in Malta a licence needs a qualified teacher with a warrant, which rules out most parents.

Sources: Eurydice: migrant students in Europe, January 2019, Make it in Germany, September 2026, King's InterHigh: primary FAQ, HSLDA, homeschooling lobby group, DQSE, Malta, September 2023

Homeschooling, country by country

For a family living there on a residence permit or remote work visa. The first rows are from a law, a government or a named organisation; the rows marked "Reported" come only from Wikipedia's overview, which we couldn't confirm and which is wrong about Malta. We found no source on how these rules treat a family on a short tourist stay. School ages for EU countries are from 2022/23.

CountryHomeschoolingWhat it takesSchool ageSource
PortugalAllowed, with registrationEnrol your child at the local school, apply to the head with your reasons, sign a collaboration agreement, have a tutor teacher, and sit equivalence exams at the end of each stage. The parent teaching needs a bachelor's degree. The law is Decreto-Lei 70/2021.6 to 18Caixa Geral de Depositos, a bank's guide, Eurydice: compulsory education 2022/23
MaltaAllowed, with a licenceA yearly licence from the education standards directorate (DQSE), for people living in Malta. A move of up to a year, or an accredited international programme, can count as a reason. The teacher must hold a permanent teaching warrant, so most parents can't teach their own child. 30 to 45 hours a week, inspections, and fines of up to EUR 100 a day. Your child stays in school until the licence is issued.5 to 15DQSE: home education handbook, September 2023
EstoniaAllowed, with the school's approvalApply to the school your child is registered at, naming the teacher. The school assesses your child twice a year. Compulsory education is being raised to 18, starting with pupils who entered grade 9 in September 2025, and it covers foreign children living there.To 18, being phased inHSLDA, homeschooling lobby group, February 2025, Estonian education ministry, June 2026
HungaryOnly with approvalApply to the Education Office by 15 June for the next school year, giving your reasons. Your child takes exams in every subject.3 to 16Eduline, education news site, May 2025, Eurydice: compulsory education 2022/23
GermanySchool is compulsorySchool is compulsory from age 6, for nine or ten years depending on the state. Wikipedia reports that homeschooling is illegal except in rare cases; we haven't confirmed that from the law.From 6, for 9 or 10 yearsMake it in Germany, federal government, September 2026, Wikipedia: homeschooling by country
BrazilNo law allows it yetThe bill to regulate homeschooling (PL 1338/2022) was still in the Senate education committee at its last step, on 6 October 2025. Wikipedia reports a 2018 Supreme Court ruling that it needs such a law first.Not checkedBrazilian Senate: PL 1338/2022, Wikipedia: homeschooling by country
ThailandAllowed, with registrationA homeschooling lobby group says families apply and are assessed each year. It doesn't say whether foreign families can register.7 to 16HSLDA, homeschooling lobby group, February 2025
ColombiaMentioned as an optionGOV.UK: "All children aged 5 to 16 must attend school or home school".5 to 16GOV.UK: living in Colombia, February 2026
JapanSchool not compulsory for foreign childrenA city education office says the duty to send children to school doesn't apply to foreign parents.Not checkedKoga City, Ibaraki: foreign children at school, 2021
MalaysiaReported as allowed, with regulationReported, not confirmedWikipedia says so; not confirmed. MDEC's DE Rantau FAQ says a dependant child needs a Student Pass to go to school, but not to be home-schooled.Not checkedWikipedia: homeschooling by country, MDEC: DE Rantau FAQ v10, August 2026
SpainReported as unclear, close to bannedReported, not confirmedWikipedia says school attendance is treated as compulsory from 6 to 16; the court ruling it cites couldn't be read.6 to 16Wikipedia: homeschooling by country, Eurydice: compulsory education 2022/23
GreeceReported as not allowedReported, not confirmedWikipedia says state education is compulsory with no known exceptions.4 to 15Wikipedia: homeschooling by country, Eurydice: compulsory education 2022/23
ItalyReported as allowedReported, not confirmedWikipedia says the constitution allows it.6 to 16Wikipedia: homeschooling by country, Eurydice: compulsory education 2022/23
CroatiaReported as not allowedReported, not confirmedWikipedia; not confirmed from the law.7 to 15Wikipedia: homeschooling by country, Eurydice: compulsory education 2022/23
Czech RepublicReported as allowed, with strict conditionsReported, not confirmedWikipedia; not confirmed from the law.5 to 15Wikipedia: homeschooling by country, Eurydice: compulsory education 2022/23
BulgariaReported as not allowed, except for special needsReported, not confirmedWikipedia; not confirmed from the law.5 to 16Wikipedia: homeschooling by country, Eurydice: compulsory education 2022/23
CyprusReported as not allowedReported, not confirmedWikipedia; not confirmed from the law.5 to 15Wikipedia: homeschooling by country, Eurydice: compulsory education 2022/23
United Arab EmiratesReported as allowedReported, not confirmedWikipedia; not confirmed.Not checkedWikipedia: homeschooling by country
IndonesiaReported as allowedReported, not confirmedWikipedia says it counts as informal education under the 2003 education law; not confirmed.Not checkedWikipedia: homeschooling by country
MexicoReported as allowed, if registeredReported, not confirmedWikipedia says registering can take a long time; not confirmed.Not checkedWikipedia: homeschooling by country
Costa RicaReported as not allowedReported, not confirmedWikipedia says it is possible for foreigners on a tourist visa; not confirmed.Not checkedWikipedia: homeschooling by country
South KoreaReported as unclear, generally toleratedReported, not confirmedWikipedia; not confirmed.Not checkedWikipedia: homeschooling by country
TaiwanReported as allowedReported, not confirmedWikipedia; not confirmed.Not checkedWikipedia: homeschooling by country

The right to a local state school

Most of Europe
Children of school age who live there have the same rights and duties as children born there. Eight systems give some migrant children different rights: Bulgaria, Denmark, Lithuania, Hungary, Romania, Sweden, North Macedonia and Turkey. In Romania, children with resident status may attend but don't have to. These are the rules as of 2017/18.
Germany
Most schools are run by the state and free. Newly arrived children may first be taught German in separate classes.
Japan
State primary and junior high schools take foreign children on the same basis as Japanese children if you ask. Tuition and textbooks are free; lunches and trips are paid. Ask the local board of education about Japanese-language help.
Malaysia (DE Rantau)
A dependant child who goes to school applies for a Student Pass through the school.
Thailand, Mexico, the UAE and Colombia
Not checked.

Sources: Eurydice: migrant students in Europe, January 2019, Make it in Germany, September 2026, Koga City, Ibaraki, 2021, MDEC: DE Rantau FAQ v10, August 2026

The school back home

England: leaving a school
A school can take a child off its roll when a parent tells it in writing that the child will be educated other than at school, when the child no longer lives within a reasonable distance, or when the child hasn't come back after agreed leave. There is no separate rule for emigrating. After a long unauthorised absence abroad, the school needs the council's agreement. We found no rule that holds a place open while you're away.
England: the 2026 Act
The Children's Wellbeing and Schools Act 2026 got Royal Assent on 29 April 2026. It will bring council registers of children not in school, with a duty on parents to give information, and council consent before some children leave a school roll: those at special schools, or with child protection involvement. None of this is in force yet; the 2019 home education guidance still applies. The Department for Education's letter doesn't mention families moving abroad.
United States
HSLDA, a homeschooling lobby group, says a country's education laws apply to every child who lives there, citizen or not, and that homeschooling abroad depends on that country's law. Military families in treaty countries may have other protections. It doesn't say outright whether your US state's rules stop once you have left.

Sources: Ealing Council: removing a pupil from the roll, July 2025, Department for Education: letter to councils, 30 April 2026, HSLDA, homeschooling lobby group

Online schools compared

Schools whose facts we could source. Most fees here come from Cognito, which runs a rival online school, so we label them; check the school's own fee page before you sign.

SchoolCurriculumLessonsAccreditationTakes children abroadFee
King's InterHighUKUK National Curriculum, IGCSE, A level and IBLive, timetabled lessons, with recordings (reported by a rival provider)Its site shows DfE, Cambridge, IB, Pearson and COBIS logosYes: it runs UK and Middle East timetables. VAT is charged to families based in the UK.Reported by a rival provider: GBP 3,450 a year for primary in 2025-26. The school itself uses a fee calculator.King's InterHigh: primary FAQ, Cognito, a rival online school, 2026
Wolsey Hall OxfordUKCambridge International and Pearson Edexcel, primary to A levelSelf-paced, no live lessonsCambridge-approved (reported)Not checkedReported by a rival provider: GBP 570 a course for 1 to 3 courses, plus GBP 95 to registerCognito, a rival online school, 2026
Minerva's Virtual AcademyUKBritish, Years 7 to 13Self-paced, with a weekly one-to-one mentorSays it is DfE accredited (reported)Not checkedReported by a rival provider: GBP 9,365 a year in 2026-27Cognito, a rival online school, 2026
Oxford Home SchoolingUKGCSE, IGCSE and A level courses. A course provider, not a schoolSelf-pacedNone: not a registered school (reported)Not checkedReported by a rival provider: GBP 375 per GCSE or IGCSE, GBP 475 per A levelCognito, a rival online school, 2026
Laurel SpringsUSUS K-12, with Honors and AP coursesFully online and self-pacedSays it is accredited; the page we read doesn't name the bodiesYes: it has a page for students outside the USNot checkedLaurel Springs: its own summary, February 2026

Not checked: K12 and Stride, Sophia High, Forest Trail Academy, Clonlara, Pansophic, iCademy Global and Outschool.

What international schools cost

A year's tuition for a primary-age child, from each school's own fee page, in the school's currency. This is to give a sense of scale, not a directory. We found figures for Lisbon and Barcelona only on an AI-compiled school directory, so we've left them out.

SchoolTuitionOne-off feesYearSource
British School of ValenciaValencia · BritishEUR 830 a month for Years 1 to 6, in ten monthly paymentsLunch is compulsory up to Year 4, at EUR 210 a month; materials are EUR 242 a term.EUR 3,250 admission (EUR 1,600 for a sibling), then EUR 445 a year to re-register2026-27British School of Valencia: fees, August 2026
ACS AthensAthens · Not stated on the fee pageEUR 12,285 for Grades 1 to 5, or EUR 13,782 with the compulsory feesEUR 963 to register a new student2026-27ACS Athens: tuition and fees
Chiang Mai International SchoolChiang Mai · Not stated on the fee pageTHB 426,800 for KG to Grade 5Every year: THB 10,000 capital improvement and a THB 1,000 PTG fee.THB 100,000 enrolment, THB 5,000 to apply and a THB 5,000 deposit2026-27Chiang Mai International School: tuition
Canggu Community SchoolCanggu, Bali · IB World SchoolIDR 162,000,000 for Years 1 and 2, IDR 173,000,000 for Years 3 to 6A capital levy of IDR 21,500,000 is charged every year up to Year 5.IDR 17,000,000 registration (IDR 14,000,000 for each extra child), IDR 2,500,000 to apply and a refundable IDR 50,000,000 deposit2026-27Canggu Community School: fees
Green School BaliBali · Not stated on the fee scheduleIDR 240,370,000 for Grades 1 to 3, IDR 245,420,000 for Grades 4 and 5, paid in full for the yearThe 2026-27 schedule adds IDR 40,000,000 of one-off admission fees (2026-27).Not on the 2025-26 schedule2025-26Green School Bali: fee schedule, September 2025, Green School Bali: 2026-27 schedule, February 2026
The Alice Smith SchoolKuala Lumpur · Not stated on the fee pageMYR 89,070 for Years 1 and 2, MYR 97,410 for Years 3 to 6, plus 6% SSTThe 6% SST has applied to school fees since 1 September 2025.MYR 20,000 enrolment (plus SST), MYR 1,500 to apply and a refundable MYR 24,000 deposit2026-27The Alice Smith School: tuition and fees

Passports, consent letters and border rules

Children's passports last up to 5 years in the UK, US, Canada and Australia, and some countries won't let a child in or out with one parent without the other's written permission.

Children's passports

UK

Lasts
5 years
Costs
GBP 66.50 online or GBP 80 on paper in the UK; GBP 75.50 online from overseas; GBP 156.50 for the one-week Fast Track
Who signs
Someone with parental responsibility applies, with both parents' details or a reason why not. A paper application for a first child passport, or to renew one for a child of 11 or under, needs a countersignature from someone who has known you for 2 years, isn't related to you and doesn't live with you. Overseas they can hold a British, Irish, EU, US or Commonwealth passport.
How long
Not given on GOV.UK's child passport page, which says not to book travel until you have the passport

Sources: GOV.UK: child passports, September 2026, GOV.UK: countersigning, September 2026, HM Passport Office: fees, June 2026

US (under 16)

Lasts
5 years. It can't be renewed: apply in person each time
Costs
USD 100 for the book plus a USD 35 acceptance fee; USD 60 more to expedite
Who signs
Both parents or guardians come with the child. A parent who can't signs a notarised Form DS-3053, handed in within 90 days.
How long
4 to 6 weeks, or 2 to 3 weeks expedited, plus up to about 2 weeks' post each way

Source: US State Department: children under 16, October 2026

Canada (under 16)

Lasts
Up to 5 years. It stays valid after 16 and can't be renewed
Costs
Not checked: the fee wouldn't load
Who signs
All parents or legal guardians sign the form.
How long
Not checked

Source: Government of Canada: child passports, March 2026

Australia (under 16)

Lasts
5 years
Costs
AUD 305 from 1 January 2026. A newer list dated 1 July 2026 wouldn't open, so check the price.
Who signs
Not checked
How long
Not checked

Source: Australian embassy, Paris: passport fees

Countries with their own rules for children

Each says how sure the source is.

South Africa

Unclear

The official leaflet still says every child needs an unabridged birth certificate, and a sworn statement from a parent who isn't travelling. A law firm reported in December 2019 that children from visa-exempt countries no longer need them, but warned the change might not be applied consistently. We found no current official page confirming it. Carry both.

Sources: Department of Home Affairs: leaflet on the 2015 rules, BAL, law firm, December 2019

Mexico

Official, plus a news report

The US State Department says Mexican children, including dual US citizens, need notarised written permission from a parent to travel without them, and that Mexican authorities have sometimes stopped US citizen children leaving. Bring a copy of each child's birth certificate. A newspaper reporting the immigration institute says foreign children who live in Mexico also need an exit form when they leave alone or with someone other than a parent; the report says it is unclear whether travelling with one parent counts, and we couldn't confirm any of it with the institute.

Sources: US State Department: Mexico, August 2026, El Imparcial, newspaper, December 2025

Colombia

Official

Colombian children, including dual nationals, face exit rules. The US State Department says children who didn't meet them have been held by the child welfare agency for weeks, and that dual US-Colombian children must enter and leave on a Colombian passport. GOV.UK says under-18s leaving without a parent or guardian need a letter of authority.

Sources: US State Department: Colombia, August 2025, GOV.UK: living in Colombia, February 2026

Portugal

Official

An under-18 entering Portugal alone, or with an adult who isn't their parent or guardian, needs a letter of authorisation, signed in front of a notary and then legalised. Without it, entry can be delayed or refused. A child who lives in Portugal needs a certified letter to leave without a parent. Children of 11 and under aren't fingerprinted under the EU's Entry/Exit System.

Source: GOV.UK: Portugal entry requirements, October 2026

Brazil

Official, from 2011

For Brazilian children, including dual nationals: leaving with one parent needs the other parent's authorisation, with a notarised signature; leaving alone or with someone else needs both. A Brazilian child who lives abroad, with a consular residence certificate under 2 years old, can travel with one parent without it. This is a 2011 rule from the national justice council. A 2019 document may have changed it, and we haven't checked.

Source: National Justice Council: Resolution 131, 2011

Money from home that stops or changes

UK Child Benefit

Tell the Child Benefit Office before 8 weeks are up

Short trips
Payments carry on for up to 8 weeks abroad, or 12 weeks if the absence is for medical treatment or a death in the family.
Moving to the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland or Liechtenstein
You may keep it only if you moved before 1 January 2021 or are covered by the Withdrawal Agreement, and you pay UK National Insurance and are employed or self-employed, or get certain benefits such as the State Pension.
Countries with a UK social security agreement
Such as Canada, Israel and New Zealand: you may be eligible, so ask the Child Benefit Office.
How to tell them
Online, by phone or by post.

Source: GOV.UK: Child Benefit abroad, September 2026

US Child Tax Credit, 2025

USD 2,200 a child, but the refundable part depends on how you file

Amount
Up to USD 2,200 a qualifying child for tax year 2025, raised by recent legislation.
Refundable part
Up to USD 1,700 a child, as the Additional Child Tax Credit, if you have at least USD 2,500 of earned income.
If you exclude foreign income
The IRS: "If you file Form 2555, you cannot claim the additional child tax credit." Using the foreign earned income exclusion costs you the refundable part.
Social Security numbers
From 2025 you need a valid SSN to claim either credit. On a joint return one spouse needs an SSN valid for work and the other an SSN or ITIN by the due date. Each child needs an SSN valid for work. A child with another tax ID may qualify for the Credit for Other Dependents instead.

Sources: IRS: Child Tax Credit, September 2026, IRS: Schedule 8812 instructions, 2025

Not checked: UK Tax-Free Childcare abroad, and the 2026 US credit amount.

Health

Insurance for children

Read the child terms before you buy: who counts as a child, up to what age, and whether they cost extra. Here is what the providers' own pages say.

World Nomads

Family plan, for US residents

One or two adults aged 69 or under, plus up to 7 dependent children under 25, 9 people at most. Everyone must live in the same US state and be on the same trip, and at least one adult must be the child's legal guardian. Whether children cost extra isn't stated.

Source: World Nomads: what is a family, October 2024

Go to World Nomads

Genki

Native and Traveler

Its product page doesn't mention children or family cover, so ask before you buy.

Source: Genki: products

Go to Genki

IMG Global, Cigna Global and Allianz Care family plans: not checked. Our insurance comparer sets each policy's own terms against your trip, and links them. Compare nomad insurance

Vaccinations and car seats

Routine vaccines
Before you travel, the CDC says to make sure "you and your family are up-to-date on all routine U.S. vaccines."
Car seats
Colombia requires car seats for children, and under-10s may not ride in the front, says the US State Department. We haven't checked the rules for taxis or ride-hailing elsewhere.

Sources: CDC: vaccines for travel, August 2024, US State Department: Colombia, August 2025

Vaccines, malaria, yellow fever certificates and medicine rules for every country we cover are on our vaccinations page. Vaccinations and health before you go

City notes for families

Only what we could source, and only for cities where we found something. A missing line means we couldn't source it, not that there is nothing there.

Malaga

Childcare
Andalucia's regional government makes early years education free for 2-year-olds from 2025-26 and, in 2026-27, for 1-year-olds too, at its own centres and at private ones that have joined its family support programme. Applications for 2026-27 ran from 1 to 30 April 2026.

Source: Junta de Andalucia: 0 to 3 years, 2026-27

The Malaga guide

Las Palmas

Childcare
The Canary Islands' Bono infantil pays all or part of a place at a municipal or approved private nursery for children born from 1 January 2024, from 1 September 2026 to 30 June 2027. It is means-tested: family income up to EUR 43,181 for three people or EUR 46,362 for four. The page gives no monthly amount.

Source: Gobierno de Canarias: Bono infantil, October 2026

The Las Palmas guide

Athens

International school
ACS Athens: EUR 12,285 for Grades 1 to 5, or EUR 13,782 with the compulsory fees (2026-27). One-off: EUR 963 to register a new student.
Childcare
Pre-school is compulsory from age 4, and state nursery schools (nipiagogeia) are free. Care for under-4s is paid, with fees set by family income, and the EU's education network says most families are entitled to vouchers.

Sources: ACS Athens: tuition and fees, Eurydice: Greece, July 2025

The Athens guide

Split

Childcare
A year of pre-school is compulsory at 6. Kindergartens are priced by their owners, usually the city. In 2023 the full price was EUR 200 to 330 a month, but in most cities parents paid no more than EUR 110. Split's own fee: not checked.

Source: Eurydice: Croatia, November 2023

The Split guide

Bali

International school
Canggu Community School: IDR 162,000,000 for Years 1 and 2, IDR 173,000,000 for Years 3 to 6 (2026-27). One-off: IDR 17,000,000 registration (IDR 14,000,000 for each extra child), IDR 2,500,000 to apply and a refundable IDR 50,000,000 deposit.
International school
Green School Bali: IDR 240,370,000 for Grades 1 to 3, IDR 245,420,000 for Grades 4 and 5, paid in full for the year (2025-26). One-off: Not on the 2025-26 schedule.

Sources: Canggu Community School: fees, Green School Bali: fee schedule, September 2025

The Bali guide

Mexico City

For families
The metropolitan environmental commission (CAMe) declared ozone contingencies in 2026, including one on 8 January, and lifted one on 13 September, according to the titles of its official bulletins.

Source: CAMe bulletin, 13 September 2026

The Mexico City guide

Before you book

  1. Check the visa takes your family. Who can come, and how much more income you need. In Hungary they can't; in Portugal a partner waits two years.
  2. Check the income for the whole family. Greece adds 20% for a spouse and 15% a child; Spain EUR 916 then EUR 305 a month; in South Korea family raises your income band.
  3. Decide how your child will learn. State school, international school, online school or homeschool, and what each costs.
  4. Check homeschooling is allowed where you'll live. It isn't a given: Germany makes school compulsory, and Malta needs a licence and a qualified teacher.
  5. Sort out the school at home. In England, tell the school in writing and check how it takes your child off its roll. We found no rule that holds a place open.
  6. Check passports early. A US passport for a child under 16 can't be renewed and needs both parents, or Form DS-3053.
  7. Carry a consent letter and birth certificates. Whenever one parent travels alone with the children, and always for South Africa.
  8. Check exit rules for dual nationals. Mexico, Colombia and Brazil have their own rules for their children.
  9. Tell the people who pay you benefits. UK Child Benefit after 8 weeks away. In the US, filing Form 2555 means no refundable child tax credit.
  10. Read your insurance's child terms. And check routine vaccines are up to date.

Where this comes from. Governments, consulates, immigration offices, the IRS, the laws themselves and schools' own fee pages, checked on 15 October 2026. Where only a law firm, a newspaper, a lobby group or a rival provider said something, the page says so, and where we couldn't find a source it says "Not checked". Rules on visas and children change often: check with the consulate before you apply.

How we make money from this page. Some links may earn us a commission, and they are marked "Affiliate link" where they do. What we say and the order things appear in don't depend on that.