Business · Employer of record

Employer of record in Romania

Employing someone in Romania through an employer of record: a low 2.25% employer contribution, the minimum wage after its July 2026 rise, 20 days' leave, probation, 20 working days' notice, the Romanian-language contract and REGES-ONLINE.

Checked on 16 October 2026. The headline rules for a standard employee, from official sources where they opened and law firm, PwC or specialist publisher guides where they didn't; each line names its source. Sectors, collective agreements and contracts can change them. This is general information, not legal advice.

Know this first

  1. Several figures here, including the minimum wage, come from press and payroll guides, because the official legislation site didn't open for us.
  2. Dismissal isn't at will: only grounds listed in the Labour Code are allowed.
  3. Sick pay rules changed in 2026: the unpaid first day applies to sick notes issued up to the end of 2027, though our payroll source says something changed from 1 June 2026 that we couldn't pin down.

Sources: Labour Code arts. 75-76 (rubinian.com), WinMentor, sick leave changes 2026

Employing someone in Romania

Employer costs on top of salary
2.25% work insurance contribution under normal working conditions, and we found no ceiling. The employee pays 25% pension and 10% health contributions, which the employer withholds. In 2026, part of the pay of full-time minimum-wage staff is free of tax and contributions (300 lei a month to June, 200 lei from July). PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries, Romania, September 2026, StartupCafe, January 2026
Minimum wage
4,325 lei a month gross from 1 July 2026 (4,050 lei before), according to press reports of the government decision. StartupCafe, June 2026, Economica.net, March 2026
Holiday
At least 20 working days a year, which can be paid out only when the job ends. 17 public holidays in 2026, according to a news site. Labour Inspectorate, working time and rest, StartupCafe, December 2025
Working hours
40 hours a week, and no more than 48 including overtime. Labour Inspectorate, working time and rest
Probation
Up to 90 calendar days, or 120 for managers. Labour Code (Ministry of Defence copy, 2023)
Notice from the employer
At least 20 working days, whatever the length of service, for dismissals on grounds such as the job being abolished; none for disciplinary dismissal. Dismissal is allowed only on grounds the Labour Code lists, in a written decision. Labour Code arts. 75-76 (rubinian.com)
Severance
The Labour Code sets no amount; it comes from the collective agreement or contract, if any. Labour Code art. 67 (rubinian.com)
Extra pay the law requires
We found no legal requirement for a 13th month or bonus. Meal vouchers are optional, with tax advantages up to 45 lei a day. StartupCafe, December 2025
Contract
Must be written, in Romanian, and registered in REGES-ONLINE (which replaced REVISAL on 1 January 2026) by the day before the person starts. Labour Code (Ministry of Defence copy, 2023), Labour Inspectorate, REGES-ONLINE, January 2026
Payroll and tax
Paid at least monthly. The employer withholds 10% income tax and the employee's contributions, and files and pays them each month by the 25th of the next month. Labour Inspectorate, information for foreign workers, PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries, Romania, September 2026, ANAF, D112 return
Sick pay
Since 1 February 2026 the first day is unpaid. The employer pays days 2 to 6, then the health insurance fund pays; the rate is 55%, 65% or 75% depending on the length of the sick note, according to a payroll guide. WinMentor, sick leave changes 2026, Avocatnet, January 2026

Providers and what they say about Romania

What each provider's own website says about Romania, in order of its published starting price. None of them publishes a separate price for Romania; the starting prices are worldwide or regional (Papaya quotes EUR 650 in Europe), and what you pay is set by quote.

ProviderCovers Romania?What it saysStarting price a month
SkuadYes, on its own siteListed in its coverage listFrom USD 199Go to Skuad
Pebl (formerly Velocity Global)Not stated-USD 399Go to Pebl (formerly Velocity Global)
MultiplierYes, on its own siteSays it owns its Romanian entityFrom USD 459 (annual), USD 499 monthlyGo to Multiplier
DeelNot stated-From USD 599Go to Deel
RemoteYes, on its own siteSays it has its own entityFrom USD 599Go to Remote
G-P (Globalization Partners)Yes, on its own site-From USD 599Go to G-P (Globalization Partners)
Atlas HXMYes, on its own site-From USD 599Go to Atlas HXM
Papaya GlobalNot stated-From USD 650 (EUR 650 in Europe)Go to Papaya Global
OysterYes, on its own site-From USD 699Go to Oyster
RipplingNot statedSays 80 countries, with no listQuote onlyGo to Rippling

Coverage is each company's own claim, from its country pages and coverage lists; we haven't checked how each one employs there. Ask whether it uses its own company or a partner in Romania.

Other countries

Employer costs, leave, notice, severance and the catches, with the providers that cover each one.

United KingdomIrelandGermanyFranceNetherlandsSwedenSwitzerlandBelgiumSpainPortugalItalyPolandCanadaAustraliaSingaporeJapanIndiaPhilippinesSouth AfricaMexicoBrazilColombiaChileArgentina

All 25 countries side by side: employer cost at your salary, holiday, notice and redundancy pay

Where this comes from. Government, social security and labour ministry pages, the laws themselves, PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries, law firm briefings and specialist publishers, each named next to what it supports, and each provider's own website for what it covers. All read on 16 October 2026. Totals marked "our sum" are our addition of the source's rates.

This is not legal or tax advice. Rules change, and sectors and collective agreements add their own. Ask your provider, or a local adviser, for the rules that apply to your hire.

How we make money from this page. Some links may earn us a commission, and they are marked "Affiliate link" where they do. The providers appear in order of published starting price, which doesn't depend on that.