Business · Employer of record

Employer of record in Italy

Employing someone in Italy through an employer of record: social contributions, why there's no national minimum wage, the 13th month, TFR severance, probation, notice and the collective agreement that sets most terms.

Checked on 16 October 2026. The headline rules for a standard employee, from official sources where they opened and law firm, PwC or specialist publisher guides where they didn't; each line names its source. Sectors, collective agreements and contracts can change them. This is general information, not legal advice.

Know this first

  1. The collective agreement (CCNL) decides pay, probation, notice and any 14th month, so ask your provider which one it will use.
  2. Contribution rates vary a lot by sector and size; PwC's 30% is a rough guide, not a quote.
  3. Some of the collective agreement details come from secondary guides, because the official texts didn't open for us.

Sources: PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries, Italy, July 2026

Employing someone in Italy

Employer costs on top of salary
About 30% of pay in social contributions, with the employee paying about 10%, according to PwC; the exact rate depends on sector, company size and job. Add INAIL accident insurance, which varies with the risk of the work, and TFR severance, which builds up at about 7.4% of pay a year. PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries, Italy, July 2026, Civil Code art. 2120 (Brocardi)
Minimum wage
There's no national minimum wage. Pay is set by the national collective agreement (CCNL) for the sector, and a 2026 law made those agreements the reference point without setting a figure. Decree-law 62/2026 as converted by Law 112/2026, Informazione Fiscale, May 2026
Holiday
At least 4 weeks a year, which can't be swapped for pay except when the job ends. 12 national public holidays from 2026, now including 4 October (St Francis). Studio Cataldi, Legislative Decree 66/2003, Normattiva, Law 151/2025, Informazione Fiscale, October 2026
Working hours
40 hours a normal week, and no more than 48 on average including overtime. Collective agreements can set fewer. INPS, circular 181/2003
Probation
Up to 6 months, and the clause must be in writing or it doesn't count. Collective agreements can set shorter periods. FiscoeTasse, the 2022 transparency decree
Notice from the employer
Set by the collective agreement, by job level and length of service, not by a number of days in the law. Under the commerce agreement, for example, it runs from 15 to 120 days, according to a 2024 summary. Lexplain, commerce agreement notice, 2024
Severance
TFR is due whenever employment ends, for any reason: each year adds a year's pay divided by 13.5, revalued each year by 1.5% plus 75% of inflation. Dismissal needs a just cause or justified reason. If it's found unfair, staff hired since March 2015 get 6 to 36 months' pay, or 3 to 18 at employers with 15 or fewer staff. Civil Code art. 2120 (Brocardi), ItaliaOggi, July 2025
Extra pay the law requires
A 13th month (tredicesima) for every employee, paid with December pay. A 14th month is due only under some collective agreements, including commerce, where it's paid in July. Lexplain, 13th and 14th month
Contract
The written contract, or a copy of the hiring notice, must be given before work starts, with other details within 7 days and some within a month. We found no rule on language. National Labour Inspectorate, circular 4/2022
Payroll and tax
The employer withholds income tax and the employee's contributions and pays them by the 16th of the next month. The hire must be notified online, normally by the day before work starts. NT+ Fisco (Il Sole 24 Ore), December 2025, Regione Piemonte, compulsory notifications guide
Sick pay
INPS pays 50% of average daily pay from day 4 to day 20, and 66.66% from day 21 to day 180; the employer advances it through payroll. The first 3 days and any top-up depend on the collective agreement. INPS, sickness benefit guide

Providers and what they say about Italy

What each provider's own website says about Italy, in order of its published starting price. None of them publishes a separate price for Italy; the starting prices are worldwide or regional (Papaya quotes EUR 650 in Europe), and what you pay is set by quote.

ProviderCovers Italy?What it saysStarting price a month
SkuadYes, on its own siteListed in its coverage listFrom USD 199Go to Skuad
Pebl (formerly Velocity Global)Has its own page for it-USD 399Go to Pebl (formerly Velocity Global)
MultiplierHas its own page for it-From USD 459 (annual), USD 499 monthlyGo to Multiplier
DeelYes, on its own site-From USD 599Go to Deel
RemoteYes, on its own siteSays it has its own entityFrom USD 599Go to Remote
G-P (Globalization Partners)Not stated-From USD 599Go to G-P (Globalization Partners)
Atlas HXMYes, on its own site-From USD 599Go to Atlas HXM
Papaya GlobalNot stated-From USD 650 (EUR 650 in Europe)Go to Papaya Global
OysterNot stated-From USD 699Go to Oyster
RipplingNot statedSays 80 countries, with no listQuote onlyGo to Rippling

Coverage is each company's own claim, from its country pages and coverage lists; we haven't checked how each one employs there. Ask whether it uses its own company or a partner in Italy.

Other countries

Employer costs, leave, notice, severance and the catches, with the providers that cover each one.

United KingdomIrelandGermanyFranceNetherlandsSwedenSwitzerlandBelgiumSpainPortugalPolandRomaniaCanadaAustraliaSingaporeJapanIndiaPhilippinesSouth AfricaMexicoBrazilColombiaChileArgentina

All 25 countries side by side: employer cost at your salary, holiday, notice and redundancy pay

Where this comes from. Government, social security and labour ministry pages, the laws themselves, PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries, law firm briefings and specialist publishers, each named next to what it supports, and each provider's own website for what it covers. All read on 16 October 2026. Totals marked "our sum" are our addition of the source's rates.

This is not legal or tax advice. Rules change, and sectors and collective agreements add their own. Ask your provider, or a local adviser, for the rules that apply to your hire.

How we make money from this page. Some links may earn us a commission, and they are marked "Affiliate link" where they do. The providers appear in order of published starting price, which doesn't depend on that.