Health · Health insurance

International health insurance for long stays and families

When you move abroad, travel insurance stops being the right cover. Nine international health plans compared from the insurers' own documents: the US, pregnancy waiting periods, adding a newborn, children, conditions you already have, age limits and the prices they publish.

Checked on 16 October 2026. Only two of these insurers publish a price, so most of this page is about what each plan covers. Terms differ by country and change each year: read the policy documents for your country before you buy. This is general information, not advice.

Travel insurance or health insurance?

Travel insurance
Built for trips. GOV.UK says many policies have a maximum trip length or a yearly limit on time outside the UK, and that travel insurance "is not intended for permanent residence abroad". The NAIC, the body for US state insurance regulators, says travel medical cover pays for short-term care if you get sick or injured while travelling, and lists pre-existing conditions among the usual exclusions. GOV.UK, foreign travel insurance, August 2024, NAIC, should I get travel insurance?, June 2026
International health insurance
Cover for where you live, bought a year at a time or kept going. Most plans below cover pregnancy, usually only on their higher tiers, and most can cover a condition you already have if you declare it and the insurer accepts it. GOV.UK points out you can buy private medical insurance as a UK expat, and that local law may require insurance, including for a visa. GOV.UK, foreign travel insurance, August 2024

Away for a few months and keeping your home? Long-stay travel and nomad policies may be all you need. Compare nomad insurance against your trip

What happens to your cover at home

UK: the NHS
The NHS is based on where you live, not your passport. If you move abroad, you're no longer automatically entitled to NHS treatment, and free hospital care depends on being ordinarily resident in the UK. Visitors who don't qualify for an exemption are charged 150% of the cost. NHS, moving abroad: planning your healthcare, May 2023, GOV.UK, NHS entitlements: migrant health guide, October 2023
UK: the GHIC
For visits, usually up to 90 days. Once you're registered to live or work in an EU country or Switzerland, don't use it there. It doesn't cover private clinics or getting you back to the UK. NHS, moving abroad, May 2023, NHS, apply for a GHIC, December 2023
UK: the S1
If you get a UK State Pension and live in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland or Liechtenstein, or a UK employer posts you there, the UK may pay for your state healthcare there. Not if you also get a pension from the country you live in. NHSBSA, healthcare cover when moving abroad, NHS, moving abroad, May 2023
US: Medicare
Outside the US, "you pay all of the costs, in most cases". Medicare drug plans don't cover medicine bought abroad; some Medigap policies cover emergency care when you travel. Medicare.gov, travel outside the US
US: the Marketplace
To get a Marketplace plan you have to live in the US. HealthCare.gov, who can get Marketplace cover

What to compare

  1. Where you'll live, and the US. Cover that includes the US is the big difference between plans. At least three of the nine aren't sold to people living in the US, and several cover the US only in emergencies or as an add-on.
  2. Pregnancy, before you need it. Waiting periods run from 10 months to 24, and on most plans routine maternity is only on the higher tiers. Upgrading later can start a new wait.
  3. Adding a newborn. Five insurers publish a deadline for adding a baby, from 4 weeks to 2 months after the birth, and four publish how long a parent must have been covered, from 3 months to 24, for the baby to join without medical questions. For the others, ask before you need it.
  4. Conditions you already have. With full medical underwriting you declare your history and the insurer may exclude a condition. A moratorium skips the questionnaire but leaves out past conditions until you've gone a set time, such as two years, without symptoms or treatment for them. Allianz is the only one we found that offers it. Financial Ombudsman Service, decision DRN-5131669
  5. Age and renewal. Joining limits run from 55 to none at all. Check whether the insurer can refuse to renew: Cigna says it won't because of your claims; Bupa can decline with 30 days' notice.
  6. Time in your home country. Cigna covers expats in their country of nationality for up to 180 days per period of cover; Genki Basic, up to 182 days once you've been away 91 days in a row.

At a glance

PlanHighest limitThe USPregnancyConditions you haveJoin up toPrice
Allianz Care£3.1m (Care Signature)On the Worldwide area onlyEnhanced and Signature, after 12 monthsFull underwriting or a 24-month moratoriumNot foundQuote only
Bupa Global€3.75m a year (Elite)Optional; not sold to US residentsPremier and Elite at least, after 18 monthsFull medical underwritingNo upper limitQuote only
Cigna GlobalPlatinum: hospital care paid in fullOptional (Worldwide including USA)Gold and Platinum, after 12 months (24 in the UK, Hong Kong, Singapore)Full medical underwritingNo upper limitQuote only
Genki Native€3.5m a year (Premium)Emergencies only, up to 91 days, after 3 monthsPremium only, after 12 monthsQuestionnaire; may be excluded55Quote only
GeoBlue XplorerUnlimited (Premier)Premier: up to 9 months a yearAn upgrade after 12 months (older documents)Underwritten; a 180-day exclusion74Quote only
IMG Global MedicalUS$8m lifetime (Platinum)Optional (Worldwide area)Platinum only, after 10 months (or 24)Full medical underwriting74Quote only
Now Health WorldCareUS$4.5m a year (Apex)Add-on for planned careApex only, after 12 monthsFull medical underwritingNot foundQuote only
SafetyWing CompleteUS$1.5m a yearAn add-on for stays over 30 days; not sold to US residentsUS$2,500 in total, after 10 monthsNot covered64US$177.50 a month, ages 18 to 39
William RussellUS$5m (Gold)Emergencies on trips of up to 45 days; not sold to US residentsGold only, after 12 monthsQuestionnaire; usually excludedUnder 76Examples published

Where an insurer says whether a limit is per year or for life, the table says so. Each plan's card below has the detail and the sources.

Pregnancy, newborns and children

If you might have a baby while you're abroad, these are the rules that matter. Every waiting period here is longer than a pregnancy, so routine care for a pregnancy that has already started when you join won't be covered.

PlanPregnancy onWaiting periodRoutine birth limitA newborn joins without medical questions ifChildren
Allianz CareEnhanced, Signature12 monthsNot foundTell Allianz within 4 weeks; the birth parent insured for 8 monthsA discount for two or more children
Bupa GlobalPremier, Elite (ask about the others)18 months (a 2024 brochure said 10)Elite: £10,000 for a normal deliveryWithin 30 days; either parent a member for 18 monthsElite: up to two children aged 9 or under free per parent
Cigna GlobalGold, Platinum12 months; 24 in the UK, Hong Kong or SingaporeUS$7,000 Gold, US$14,000 PlatinumWithin 30 days; a parent covered for 12 months (24 for births in the UK, Hong Kong or Singapore)A child can't be insured alone
Genki NativePremium12 monthsWithin the overall limitWithin 2 months; a parent insured for 3 monthsEveryone has their own contract; no family discount
GeoBlue XplorerAn upgrade (not in the 2024 brochure)About 12 months (older documents)Not foundNot found (Premier covers a covered pregnancy's newborn care)Unmarried children under 26
IMG Global MedicalPlatinum10 months, or 24 depending on underwritingUS$50,000 lifetimeNot foundDependants 19 and over apply separately
Now Health WorldCareApex12 monthsUS$17,500Not foundFamily discounts of 10% and 15%
SafetyWing CompleteThe one plan10 monthsUS$2,500 in totalNot foundChildren's plans cost up to 35% less
William RussellGold12 monthsUS$18,500Add the baby within 30 days; whether without medical questions: not foundNo family discount

"Not found" means it wasn't in the documents we could read, not that the plan doesn't allow it: ask the insurer.

The plans

Allianz Care

Three plans, and the only moratorium here

Quote only
Plans
Care Base, Care Enhanced and Care Signature, for new customers since November 2025, with plan limits of £830,000, £1.66 million and £3.1 million (€1 million, €2 million and €3.7 million). Its pages call this the maximum plan limit and don't say whether it is per year.
Where it covers
Worldwide, worldwide excluding the USA, Africa, or Europe. Only the Worldwide area includes the US. Allianz suggests choosing the area where you live, or spend more than six months of the year.
Pregnancy
Routine maternity and complications are part of the core plan on Enhanced and Signature, after a 12-month waiting period. Not on Care Base. The cash limits are in a benefit guide we couldn't open.
Newborns
Allianz's FAQ says to tell it within 4 weeks of the birth. If the birth parent has been insured with Allianz for at least 8 months in a row, the baby is accepted without medical underwriting and covered from birth. Multiple births and late notice are underwritten. The FAQ isn't specific to the new plans, so ask.
Children
Each person pays their own premium. Allianz says discounts apply when you insure two or more children.
Conditions you have now
You choose. With full medical underwriting you declare your history, and conditions are generally covered unless your policy says otherwise. With a moratorium there's no questionnaire, and a condition you had before can be covered once you've gone 24 months in a row without symptoms, treatment, medicine or advice for it.
Age and renewal
No age limit for joining on the pages we read. Policies renew automatically while the plan is still sold, cover can continue in your country of residence and premiums are paid. No promise of lifelong renewal.
Insurer
AWP Health & Life SA, trading as Allianz Partners, regulated in France by the ACPR, through its Irish branch.

Sources: Allianz Care, switching insurers, Allianz Care, new plans news release, Allianz Care, planning a family, Allianz Care, established families, Allianz Care, policy FAQ, Allianz Care, regulatory information

Go to Allianz Care

Bupa Global

Four tiers; not for US residents

Quote only
Plans
Bupa Global Health Plans: Major Medical, Select, Premier and Elite. In the version sold to EEA residents, the yearly limits are €2.5 million, €1.25 million, €1.875 million and €3.75 million. The Elite guide gives £3 million or US$5.1 million a person a year.
Who can buy
Nobody living in the US can buy any Bupa Global plan. EEA residents buy from Bupa Global DAC in Ireland. Bupa Insurance Limited sells it from the UK, but its target market statement isn't clear about who that version is for: ask Bupa.
Where it covers
Worldwide, or worldwide excluding the US. On Select, Premier and Elite you can also leave out Europe. Elite uses Blue Cross Blue Shield networks in the US.
Pregnancy
Covered on Premier and Elite, by their own documents; ask Bupa about Major Medical and Select. Bupa's comparison page and its December 2024 Elite guide say the mother must have been on the plan for 18 months; a May 2024 Elite brochure said 10, so check the documents you're given. On Elite: £10,000 for a normal delivery, £20,000 for a medically necessary caesarean, care before and after the birth paid in full.
Newborns
Added from birth with no personal exclusions if either parent has been a member for at least 18 months and the form arrives within 30 days of the birth (the Elite guide; Premier's summary uses the same 18 months). Otherwise the baby is underwritten. On Elite, a baby born in the US, by assisted reproduction, adopted or by surrogacy is always underwritten.
Children
On Elite, up to two children aged 9 or under per covered parent, four at most, at no extra premium, subject to underwriting and living with that parent.
Deductibles
The trade press reports deductibles of £500 to £5,000 on the range sold in the EEA, with lower ones for outpatient care. Elite pays hospital care in full.
Conditions you have now
Full medical underwriting: conditions you declare are covered unless Bupa adds a personal exclusion; ones you don't declare aren't covered. We found no moratorium option.
Age and renewal
Any age, with no upper limit, in Bupa's target market statement. Each year is a new contract. Bupa can decline to renew with 30 days' notice; if it renews, it adds no new personal exclusions.
Insurer
UK: Bupa Insurance Limited, authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and PRA. EEA: Bupa Global DAC, regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland.

Sources: Bupa, target market statement, May 2025, Bupa Global, plans for Europe, Bupa Global, plan comparison (Italy), Bupa Global, Elite membership guide, December 2024, Bupa Global, Elite brochure, May 2024, Bupa, Premier plan summary (IPID), hosted by SIP, Health & Protection, December 2024

Go to Bupa Global

Cigna Global

Three plans, with or without the US

Quote only
Plans
Silver, US$1 million a year (£650,000); Gold, US$2 million (£1.3 million); Platinum, hospital care paid in full. You can add outpatient, evacuation, wellbeing, and vision and dental cover.
Where it covers
Worldwide including the USA, or worldwide excluding it. In the US you generally need a Cigna network provider; out of network is paid at 20% less, except in an emergency, or where nobody in the network is within 30 miles or offers the treatment.
Your home country
If you're an expat, you're covered in your country of nationality while you're there for a while, up to 180 days per period of cover. UK citizens living in the UK can buy it too.
Pregnancy
Gold and Platinum only. Routine maternity US$7,000 on Gold and US$14,000 on Platinum; complications US$14,000 and US$28,000 (customer guide, February 2025). The mother must have been covered for 12 months, or 24 months in the UK, Hong Kong or Singapore, in Cigna's 2026 policy rules. Its February 2025 guide gave 24 months for Hong Kong and Singapore only.
Newborns
Newborn care in the first 90 days: US$25,000 on Silver, US$75,000 on Gold, US$156,000 on Platinum. A baby is added without health questions if a parent has been covered for 12 months (24 for births in the UK, Hong Kong or Singapore) and you apply within 30 days. Adopted and surrogate-born children are always underwritten.
Children
A child can't be insured alone: the policyholder must be 18 or over, and so must someone on the policy.
Deductibles
US$0 to US$10,000 on hospital cover, then a cost share of 0% to 30%, with a yearly out-of-pocket maximum of US$2,000 or US$5,000.
Conditions you have now
Full medical underwriting: Cigna may exclude a condition, or cover it for an extra premium. No moratorium in its policy rules.
Age and renewal
No upper age limit, Cigna says. It renews automatically each year; Cigna can decline to renew, but not because of your claims or illness.
Insurer
In the UK, Cigna Europe Insurance Company S.A.-N.V., UK branch, authorised by the National Bank of Belgium and the PRA. Other countries use other Cigna insurers, such as Cigna Global Insurance Company Limited in Guernsey.

Sources: Cigna Global, plans, Cigna, customer guide, February 2025, Cigna, UK policy rules, 2026 (Spanish), Cigna, Guernsey policy rules, February 2026

Go to Cigna Global

Genki Native

For nomads and expats who join by 55

Quote only
Plans
Basic, €1 million a year, and Premium, €3.5 million (table of benefits dated 1 September 2026).
Where it covers
Worldwide, but the US only for emergencies, on stays of up to 91 days, up to €250,000 a year on Basic and €500,000 on Premium, and not in your first 3 months. In your country of nationality: Premium gives full cover; Basic covers up to 182 days, once you've spent at least 91 days in a row outside it.
Pregnancy
Premium only, after 12 months: care before the birth, scans, a midwife, the birth in hospital or at home, and care afterwards, within the overall limit. Basic covers only severe complications. Life-threatening complications have no waiting period.
Newborns
If a parent has had Native for at least 3 months, apply within 2 months of the birth: no medical questionnaire, and cover from birth. The baby gets their own contract. Otherwise a baby can be added from 2 months old with the questionnaire.
Children
Everyone has their own contract, priced on their own age, and there's no family discount.
Deductibles
€0, €500 or €1,000 a year, not applied to hospital stays.
Conditions you have now
A medical questionnaire, assessed by the insurer: you can be accepted, accepted with exclusions, charged more, or declined. Conditions you declare that aren't excluded are covered.
Age and renewal
Join up to 55. Once you're covered there's no age limit and no maximum length; you can cancel any time after the first month. Open to nomads without a fixed legal residence.
Insurer
Squarelife Insurance AG, Liechtenstein. Genki is the agent.

Sources: Genki Native, Genki, table of benefits, September 2026, Genki, waiting periods, Genki, adding a family member, Genki, pre-existing conditions

Go to Genki Native

GeoBlue Xplorer

Cover abroad and in the US

Quote only, through brokers
Name
GeoBlue is now BlueCross BlueShield Global Solutions, and its plan names were simplified in February 2026; brokers now list Worldwide Premier and Outside U.S. Everything below is from GeoBlue's 2023 and 2024 documents, so check the current ones.
Plans
Xplorer Premier and Xplorer Essential. The 2024 brochure says both have unlimited yearly and lifetime maximums; a 2023 comparison gives Essential US$1 million.
The US
Premier covers care in the US for up to 9 months a year, through the Blue Cross Blue Shield PPO network. Essential covers you outside the US, with an optional rider for emergencies on up to three US trips of 21 days a year.
Who it's for
You must expect to live outside your home country for at least 3 months a year.
Pregnancy
Not in the 2024 brochure. A 2019 GeoBlue sheet says maternity is available as an upgrade after 12 months of cover, and a broker says the same. Check before you rely on it.
Newborns
On Premier, the newborn of a covered pregnancy is covered automatically for intensive and routine nursery care. The rule for adding a baby after that: not found.
Children
Unmarried children under 26 can be covered as dependants.
Deductibles
US$0 to US$10,000; a family deductible is 2.5 times the individual one. Premier pays 100% outside the US, and 80% in-network or 60% out of network in the US.
Conditions you have now
Medically underwritten, and not everyone is accepted. Conditions you already have are excluded for 180 days, waived if you can show you had health insurance before.
Age and renewal
Apply at 74 or younger. Your rates don't change because of your own claims, but benefits, rates and terms can change each year.
Insurer
4 Ever Life International Limited, Bermuda, administered by GeoBlue (Worldwide Insurance Services, LLC). Sold through licensed agents.

Sources: GeoBlue, Xplorer brochure, 2024, GeoBlue, comparing the plans, 2023, GeoBlue, Premier eligibility, GeoBlue, Xplorer Essential, 2019, BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina, the rebrand, February 2026, International Insurance (broker), Xplorer benefits

Go to GeoBlue Xplorer

IMG Global Medical

Four tiers, with lifetime limits

Quote only
Plans
Bronze, US$1 million; Silver and Gold, US$5 million; Platinum, US$8 million. These are lifetime limits per person, from IMG's 2022 brochure as hosted by a broker; a broker page updated in February 2026 shows the same.
Where it covers
Worldwide, or worldwide excluding the US, Canada, China, Hong Kong, Japan, Macau, Singapore and Taiwan. US citizens must plan to live outside the US for at least 6 of the next 12 months.
Pregnancy
Platinum only, after 10 months of cover (another IMG brochure says 10 or 24 months, depending on underwriting), with an extra US$2,500 deductible per pregnancy and a US$50,000 lifetime limit.
Newborns
On Platinum, if the pregnancy was covered: newborn care up to US$250,000 in the first 31 days. Children can be insured from 14 days old. The rule for adding a baby: not found.
Children
Dependants aged 19 and over need their own application.
Deductibles
US$250 to US$10,000 on Bronze and Silver; up to US$25,000 on Gold and Platinum.
Conditions you have now
Full medical underwriting; IMG can exclude a condition or charge more. Bronze doesn't cover conditions you already have. On the other tiers, conditions you declare are covered unless they're excluded.
Age and renewal
Join from 14 days old to 74. It renews each year with no new medical questions. Join by 65 and stay covered to 75, and you can move to IMG's Global Senior Plan without new underwriting.
Insurer
SiriusPoint Specialty Insurance Corporation; IMG administers it. IMG also sells a newer expat plan, Global Prima, launched in 2023, which we haven't checked.

Sources: IMG, Global Medical brochure, 2022 (hosted by Expat Insurance), IMG, Global Medical brochure (hosted by International Insurance), International Insurance (broker), Global Medical, February 2026, IMG, Global Prima launch, April 2023

Go to IMG Global Medical

Now Health WorldCare

Four tiers; the US is an add-on

Quote only
Plans
Essential, US$3 million a year; Advance, US$3.5 million; Excel, US$4 million; Apex, US$4.5 million (brochure, April 2025).
Where it covers
Worldwide excluding the US, as standard. Planned treatment in the US is an add-on, up to US$1.5 million. Without it, US emergencies are covered: accidents up to the yearly limit, illness in hospital up to US$25,000 on Essential and US$50,000 on Apex.
Pregnancy
Routine maternity on Apex only: US$17,500 (£10,940), after 12 months. On every tier, medical complications of pregnancy are covered after 12 months.
Newborns
Hospital treatment in the first 30 days: US$100,000 on Essential and Advance, US$125,000 on Excel, US$150,000 on Apex. The rule for adding a baby: not found.
Children
A family discount when you add a partner and a child, and a bigger one with three or more children: 10% and 15% in Now Health's 2024 notice.
Deductibles
None as standard; options from US$150 to US$15,000.
Conditions you have now
Full medical underwriting up front; conditions you already have are excluded unless Now Health agrees in writing.
Age and renewal
Joining age and renewal terms: not found in what we read.
Insurer
It depends where the policy is issued. In Europe it's insured by Starr Europe Insurance Limited and issued from Malta. UK policies are issued by Now Health International (UK) Ltd, authorised by the FCA; its brochure names Best Doctors Insurance Limited as an insurer. Ask which applies to you.

Sources: Now Health, WorldCare brochure, April 2025, Now Health, Apex summary (UK), 2026, hosted by SIP, Now Health, Advance summary, 2025, Now Health, UK application form, June 2026, Now Health, 2024 product review

Go to Now Health WorldCare

SafetyWing Complete

Nomad Insurance Complete: one plan, no deductible

US$177.50 a month, ages 18 to 39
Plan
One plan: US$1.5 million a year for medical and hospital care, outpatient care up to US$5,000, with no deductible and no co-insurance.
Who can buy
Not residents of the US or its territories, Canada, Ireland, the UAE or Saudi Arabia, among others.
Where it covers
Your country of residence, even if that's your home country, plus travel to other covered countries. The US, Hong Kong and Singapore are an add-on, which SafetyWing says to choose if you'll spend more than 30 days there; it covers up to 6 months in the US.
Pregnancy
US$2,500 in total for routine care in pregnancy, the birth and 30 days after, after a 10-month waiting period.
Newborns
Not found: the policy document wouldn't open for us.
Children
Add a partner or children when you sign up. SafetyWing says children's plans cost up to 35% less.
Conditions you have now
Not covered: anything diagnosed or treated at any time in your life, or with symptoms in the last 2 years.
Age and renewal
Sign up until 64; once you're in, it's renewable indefinitely. A 12-month commitment.
Price
US$177.50 a month for ages 18 to 39, on the 12-month commitment.
Insurer
The health cover is insured by VUMI Group, I.I., in Puerto Rico.

Sources: SafetyWing, Nomad Insurance Complete, SafetyWing, which countries are covered, SafetyWing, deductibles, March 2026, SafetyWing, waiting periods, March 2026

Go to SafetyWing Complete

William Russell

Publishes example prices; no US residents

Examples from US$84 a month
Plans
Bronze and SilverLite, US$1.5 million; Silver, US$2.5 million; Gold, US$5 million.
Who can buy
People of any nationality living abroad, but not if you live in the US or Switzerland.
Where it covers
Seven zones. The widest covers the US only for accidents and emergencies, up to US$50,000, on trips of up to 45 days; an extension raises that to US$250,000 a year. Full US cover isn't offered.
Pregnancy
Routine maternity on Gold only: US$18,500 per pregnancy, once the mother has been insured for 12 months. Complications for the mother are covered on every plan, from US$4,800 on Bronze.
Newborns
Add the baby at the same plan level within 30 days of the birth. Cover for congenital conditions in the first 90 days needs a parent to have been insured for 12 months.
Children
No family discount. New policies get a lifetime discount instead: 15% in most countries, 16% in the UAE, and 20% in some countries with an excess of US$1,000 or less.
Conditions you have now
A medical questionnaire; conditions you already have are typically not covered unless agreed. Waiting periods can't be bought out: 12 months for mental health, for example.
Age and renewal
Under 76 when the policy starts. William Russell says you can renew for as long as you need.
Prices it publishes
Bronze, US$84 a month for a 30-year-old UK national in Vietnam with South East Asia cover. Silver, US$706 a month for a 50-year-old American in China with worldwide cover. Gold, US$822 a month for a French family with two children in the Philippines. Each assumes the excess shown on its page.
Insurer
AWP Health & Life SA (Allianz group), through William Russell Europe SRL in Belgium.

Sources: William Russell, international health insurance, William Russell, coverage zones, William Russell, maternity, William Russell, waiting periods, William Russell, lifetime discounts, January 2026, William Russell, pre-existing conditions, William Russell, products

Go to William Russell

What visas ask for

From the embassy, consulate or official pages named. Consulates of the same country can word it differently, so check the list from the one you'll apply to. Where insurance isn't on the list we read, that doesn't mean you won't be asked for it.

VisaWhat it asks forTravel insurance accepted?Source
Spain, telework (digital nomad) visaAn insurer authorised in Spain, covering what the Spanish public system covers. Some consulates add more: Santiago de Chile says no co-payments, no waiting periods and no cover limit; Bahía Blanca says no co-payments and at least €30,000.No, at Santiago de ChileEmbassy of Spain in Ottawa, telework visa, January 2024, Consulate of Spain in Santiago de Chile, telework visa (Spanish), Consulate of Spain in Bahía Blanca, telework visa (Spanish)
Portugal, remote work residence visaAt least €30,000 for the whole stay (VFS's checklist for applicants in India).Yes, the checklist asks for travel insuranceVFS Global for Portugal (India), remote work residence visa checklist
Italy, digital nomad visaCover for medical treatment and hospital stays, valid across Italy for the whole stay. No minimum given.Not statedEmbassy of Italy in Pretoria, digital nomads
Croatia, digital nomad stayInsurance covering Croatia for the time you'll be there. No minimum given.YesCroatian Ministry of the Interior, digital nomads
Costa Rica, digital nomad visaAt least US$50,000 for the whole stay, from an international or Costa Rican insurer; family members need cover too.Not statedVisit Costa Rica, digital nomads
Thailand, LTR visa (working from Thailand)At least US$50,000 for hospital care and treatment in Thailand, with at least 10 months of cover left. Or social security that covers treatment in Thailand, or a US$100,000 deposit.NoThailand Board of Investment, LTR documents, June 2025
Thailand, Destination Thailand Visa (DTV)Not on the London embassy's list of documents.-Royal Thai Embassy London, DTV, September 2026
Malaysia, DE Rantau passInsurance covering Malaysia, valid for at least 3 months and for the whole pass. No minimum given.Not statedMDEC, DE Rantau Pass FAQ, August 2026
Mexico, temporary resident visaNot on the London or Chicago consulates' lists of documents.-Consulate of Mexico in the UK, Consulate of Mexico in Chicago, temporary residence
Indonesia, remote worker visa (E33G)Not in the requirements EY reported when it started, in April 2024.-EY, Indonesia's remote worker visa, April 2024
Japan, digital nomad visaPrivate medical travel insurance with at least ¥10 million of medical cover for the stay, and the same for a partner or child who comes with you.Yes, it asks for travel insuranceImmigration Services Agency of Japan, digital nomads
Schengen short-stay visaAt least €30,000, valid across the Schengen area for the whole trip, with no deductible.YesEmbassy of Lithuania in South Africa, Schengen insurance, January 2023

Income, length of stay and the rest of each visa's rules are in the visa checker.

Where this comes from. Each insurer's own policy rules, membership guides, benefit tables, product pages and help pages, read on 16 October 2026, with GOV.UK, the NHS, NHSBSA, Medicare.gov, HealthCare.gov, the NAIC, and the embassies and consulates named. Where an insurer's documents disagree, or a fact comes from a broker or the trade press, the card says so.

This is not advice. We're not insurance brokers. The policy documents for your country are what count, and an independent broker can compare plans for your situation.

How we make money from this page. Some links may earn us a commission, and they are marked "Affiliate link" where they do. What we say and the order the plans appear in (by name) don't depend on that.