Tech

Keep your home phone number abroad

How to hold on to your number while you live somewhere else, for as little as possible, and still get the texts your bank sends. US and UK options compared, the rules on long stays abroad, and how to move your number without losing it.

Your bank's texts are the hard part. Many banks and websites only send codes to real mobile numbers, and won't text an internet or landline number. If your bank still texts you codes, keep a real mobile number for it, and switch every login you can to app approval or an authenticator app.

Before you go

  1. Work out what the number is for. If it's for friends and family, a free internet number will do. If your bank or tax office texts it codes, it needs to stay a real mobile number.
  2. Do it while you're still at home. Moving a US number into Google Voice has to be requested from the US. Tello and US Mobile only roam once the line has been used in the US. Some UK banks' apps must be set up before you leave.
  3. Switch logins to app approval. Wherever a bank or site lets you approve logins in its app or with an authenticator, do that instead of texts. Texts are the part most likely to fail abroad.
  4. Put the deadline in your calendar. Numbers you don't use get taken back: Google Voice can reclaim yours after 3 months with no calls or texts, and pay-as-you-go SIMs cut you off after 4 months on iD Mobile and 6 on giffgaff. One call or text before the date keeps it.

Which to choose

A US mobile number for bank codes, as cheaply as possible
Tello, from $5 a month; $8 with unlimited calls, texts and Wi-Fi calling
A US number just for friends and family
Google Voice, free
A US number you only need to hold on to
NumberBarn, $2.99 a month, or Tello's $3 parking
To stay on T-Mobile, Verizon or AT&T
Read their rules on long stays first
A UK number kept alive for as little as possible
giffgaff: one paid text every 6 months

Keeping a US number

The cheapest ways to keep your US number, from a real mobile line to a parked one. A mobile number is the one most likely to get your bank's texts.

OptionFromKind of numberAbroad
TelloA real mobile number, cheaply, with Wi-Fi callingFrom $5 a month; parking from $3MobileWi-Fi calling, or roaming in 200-plus countries paid from your balance
US MobileA cheap year paid up front$8 a month, paid $96 a yearMobileWi-Fi calling, or roaming once the line has been used in the US
Google VoiceFree, for calls and texts with people at homeFree; $20 to move your mobile number inInternetYes, over Wi-Fi or data. Google says calls you make while abroad are charged at its international rates.
NumberBarnParking a number you only need to keep$2.99 a monthLandlineForwarding can go to a number abroad

Tello

A real mobile number, cheaply, with Wi-Fi calling

From $5 a month; parking from $3

Unlimited calls and texts with Wi-Fi calling for $8 a month, at no extra charge for Wi-Fi calls. Texts work over Wi-Fi; picture messages don't. Parking the number costs $3 a month, but a parked number can't call or text.

Kind of number
Mobile
Abroad
Wi-Fi calling, or roaming in 200-plus countries paid from your balance
The catch
Activate the eSIM before you leave: roaming only works once the line has been used in the US. If a plan lapses, you have 30 days before the number goes.

Sources: Tello: a US number abroad, Tello: parking a number, Tello: when a number expires

Go to Tello

US Mobile

A cheap year paid up front

$8 a month, paid $96 a year

The Light plan: 2GB of data and unlimited calls and texts. Wi-Fi calls to US numbers are generally included.

Kind of number
Mobile
Abroad
Wi-Fi calling, or roaming once the line has been used in the US
The catch
Its terms say the plan isn't for long or permanent use abroad: after more than 90 days in a row abroad with no US use, it can switch off international service until you're back.

Sources: US Mobile: roaming, US Mobile: international terms

Go to US Mobile

Google Voice

Free, for calls and texts with people at home

Free; $20 to move your mobile number in

Calls and texts over Wi-Fi or data in the app. Texts go to US and Canadian numbers only. Moving your number in ends your mobile plan, so do it last.

Kind of number
Internet
Abroad
Yes, over Wi-Fi or data. Google says calls you make while abroad are charged at its international rates.
The catch
Personal accounts are for the US, and the move must be requested from the US. Some banks won't text a Google Voice number. If you make no calls or texts for 3 months, Google can take the number back.

Sources: Google Voice: App Store, Google: moving your number in, Google: call charges, Google: texts, Google: Voice use policy

Go to Google Voice

NumberBarn

Parking a number you only need to keep

$2.99 a month

Holds your number with a greeting; texting may be a $1 a month add-on. Forwarding calls to another phone is $6.99 a month. Moving your number in costs $5; moving it out again is free.

Kind of number
Landline
Abroad
Forwarding can go to a number abroad
The catch
It counts as a landline number, and some companies won't send their codes to landlines.

Sources: NumberBarn: parking, NumberBarn: verification codes

Go to NumberBarn

Read the terms before you pick a cheap plan: Mint Mobile's and Ultra Mobile's both ban using the service while you live outside the US. App numbers such as Hushed ($6.99 a month for one line) and TextNow work over data, but say some services won't send them codes. Skype closed in May 2025: Skype Number texts and forwarding stopped then, and the last Skype Number subscriptions ended in May 2026.

Sources: Mint Mobile: acceptable use, October 2025, Ultra Mobile: acceptable use, October 2025, Hushed: App Store, TextNow: verification codes, Microsoft: Skype is retired

Staying on a big US carrier

Fine for a trip, dear for a year. Wi-Fi calling home is the cheap part; what catches people is the carriers' rules on how long you can spend abroad.

T-Mobile

Roaming
Texts and data in 215-plus countries on most plans; calls 50c a minute. Passes: $10 a day, $50 for 10 days, $75 for 30.
Wi-Fi calls home
Free to US numbers
Long stays
Meant for short trips. If more than half your use is abroad for two bill cycles you get warnings; after three months your international data is blocked.
Pausing your line
Up to 90 days, twice a year, but you still pay the full monthly charge.

Sources: T-Mobile: international, T-Mobile: long stays abroad, T-Mobile: suspending a line

Verizon

Roaming
TravelPass: $12 a day ($6 in Mexico and Canada), only on days you use it.
Wi-Fi calls home
Not stated on its own pages
Long stays
Not stated on the pages we checked.
Pausing your line
Up to 90 days, once a year, for at most $10 a month. Phone payments carry on.

Sources: Verizon: TravelPass, Verizon: suspension policy

Moving a US number without losing it

Keep the old line open
Your number must still be active to move it. Don't cancel the old plan until the new company confirms the move; moving it ends that line with the old company for you.
How long it takes
The FCC requires a simple move to be done within one business day.
If you owe money
Your old company can't refuse to release your number, even if you owe it money. It can charge a fee.
The transfer PIN
The big carriers ask for a number transfer PIN, which you request from your old carrier. AT&T's lasts 4 days.

Sources: FCC: keeping your number, AT&T: number transfer PIN

Keeping a UK number

The cheapest way is to move your number to a pay-as-you-go SIM and use it once before its deadline. Wi-Fi calling doesn't work abroad on most UK networks, so to get texts you'll be roaming.

SIMFromTo keep your numberIn the EUWi-Fi calling abroad
giffgaffThe longest gap allowed between usesFrom £6Use it once every 6 months: one paid call, text or data session, or a top-upFree with any plan, up to 5GBNot abroad
Asda MobileA £4 plan with a long keep-alive windowFrom £4 for calls and textsA paid call or text every 180 days; after 270 days the number is cut off for goodFree in 46 European countries, up to 5GBNot stated
Lyca MobileA cheap 30-day plan with an instant eSIMFrom £3.50 for 30 daysLyca says your number is safe for 120 days without useIncluded on plans, up to 5GB on the cheapestNot offered
iD MobilePay as you go on the Three networkFrom £6A paid call, text, data, top-up or bundle every 4 months; a warning text comes at 90 daysIncludedUK only
SMARTYShort trips only£6 a monthA monthly plan, so it stays live while you payIncludedNot abroad

Asda Mobile

A £4 plan with a long keep-alive window

From £4 for calls and texts
To keep your number
A paid call or text every 180 days; after 270 days the number is cut off for good
In the EU
Free in 46 European countries, up to 5GB
Wi-Fi calling abroad
Not stated
Note
Data in the USA, Canada, Australia and New Zealand costs 20p per MB.

Sources: Asda Mobile: keeping your number, Asda Mobile: roaming

Go to Asda Mobile

SMARTY

Short trips only

£6 a month
To keep your number
A monthly plan, so it stays live while you pay
In the EU
Included
Wi-Fi calling abroad
Not abroad
Note
After 60 days in a row abroad, in Europe or anywhere else, SMARTY can suspend every service on your account, and your plan keeps renewing while it's suspended unless you turn auto-renew off.

Sources: SMARTY: roaming, SMARTY: Wi-Fi calling

Go to SMARTY

Staying on a big UK network

Monthly plans on the big four are built for holidays. Each has a rule for people who stay abroad too long.

Vodafone

In the EU
£2.75 a day in most of the EU; free in Ireland, Norway and Iceland
Further afield
£8 a day
Long stays
More than 62 days abroad in four months, or more use abroad than at home, can bring charges after a text warning.
Wi-Fi calling abroad
Generally not

Sources: Vodafone: roaming prices, July 2026, Vodafone: global roaming

Three

In the EU
£2.75 a day (joined from 18 December 2025)
Further afield
£8 a day
Long stays
Two complete months in Three's Go Roam destinations in any 12 can get your roaming switched off until you're back in the UK.
Wi-Fi calling abroad
Not stated

Sources: Three: Go Roam, Three: roaming FAQs

UK banks, and moving your number

Text PAC to 65075
Moving your number
Text PAC to 65075 from the phone. It's free, the code lasts 30 days, and the new provider must make the switch within one working day. Do it while the old SIM still works, as the code comes back by text.
After the move
Your number takes on the new provider's rules, including how long it can go unused.
Nationwide
Sends one-time passcodes to UK mobile numbers only. Set up its app before you leave the UK: it can't be registered on a non-UK device.
Barclays
Its app can't currently be registered with an international number.
HSBC
You can approve card payments in its app, or with a card reader, instead of a text code.
Chase UK
Abroad, you may need mobile data turned on to get its passcode.
An internet number
Skype Numbers are gone. Andrews & Arnold can move your 07 number onto an internet line for £12, then £1.80 a month, but check your bank will text it before you rely on it.

Sources: Ofcom: text to switch, Ofcom: switching mobile, Nationwide: living abroad, Nationwide: codes by text, Barclays: non-UK mobile, HSBC: confirming purchases, Chase UK: one-time passcodes, Andrews & Arnold: mobile porting

Canada, Australia and the EU

Canada: voip.ms

Move a Canadian number to an internet line

US$1.10 a month

Moving a US or Canadian number in is free and takes about 5 working days. Texts cost 2 cents or less each. You put down at least US$15 to start, and prices are in US dollars. As an internet number, some banks may not text it.

Source: voip.ms: what it costs

Go to voip.ms

EU: roaming with a home SIM

If you live outside the EU

Your home plan

Roam like at home has a fair-use test: over at least four months, more than half your days or use must count as at home. Time spent outside the EU counts as at home for this test, so living in Asia or the UK and only visiting other EU countries shouldn't trip it. Your operator sets its own prices outside the EU.

Source: BEREC: roaming guidelines, June 2026

The EU's roaming FAQ

Need data where you're going as well? A local eSIM alongside your home number gives you both. Compare eSIM plans

Where this comes from. Prices, rules and terms come from each provider's own pages, and the rules on moving a number from the FCC and Ofcom, checked on 13 October 2026. Where a fact comes from somewhere else, the source says so.

How we make money from this page. Some links may earn us a commission, and they are marked "Affiliate link" where they do. What we say and the order things appear in don't depend on that.