City guides Turkey

Istanbul

  • A city on two continents
  • Visa-free for 90 days
  • Nomad visa for graduates

British and American passports get 90 days in any 180 with no paperwork, and a nomad visa opens at USD 3,000 a month for graduates aged 21 to 55 from a list of countries, according to EY (April 2024). The catch is that prices move fast: new-tenant rents rose about 10 per cent from the end of 2025, and transit fares about 10 per cent in one vote in July 2026. The UK rates terrorism as likely, and an online post that insults the President can mean prison.

Every figure checked 15 Oct 2026

  • TRY 40,453 a month Average new-tenant rent, a 100 square metre flat of any type, whole city
  • TRY 3,628 Monthly transport pass
  • Price not checked Cheap weekday lunch
  • Country Turkey
  • Time zone UTC+3 08:23 there now
  • Language Turkish
  • Currency Turkish lira (TRY)
  • Plugs Type C and F, 230V. UK plugs need an adapter

How far English gets you Not checked: we found no sourced figure for how widely English is spoken in Istanbul. What we do know is that police carry out ID checks, especially in Istanbul, so expect to deal with officials in Turkish. Have your passport or residence permit on you, and a translation app ready.

Honestly

Is this your kind of place?

It suits you if

British and American passport holders who want 90 days in any 180 without any paperwork. Graduates aged 21 to 55 (according to EY, April 2024) earning at least USD 3,000 a month from a foreign employer or foreign clients, who can use the nomad visa to stay longer. Anyone who likes warm, dry city weather: May to September have highs of about 22 to 30 degrees and under 8 rain days a month.

It does not suit you if

Anyone without a degree, or over 55 according to EY (April 2024): the nomad visa is closed to them. Anyone who wants predictable costs: the average new-tenant rent rose about 10 per cent from the end of 2025, and a monthly transit pass went from TRY 3,298 to TRY 3,628 in July 2026. Anyone who posts political opinions online, because insulting the nation, the flag, the President or Ataturk is a criminal offence. Anyone who wants to forget about terrorism: GOV.UK says attacks are likely, and the US cites arbitrary detentions. And anyone who hates wet, grey winters: December to February bring 14 to 16 rain days a month.

Money

What everything else costs

One-bed in Besiktas From about TRY 25,000 a month Listings reported by gzt.com, August 2026. TRY 50,000 to 60,000 in newer buildings. Not stated whether furnished. No figure for Kadikoy, Moda, Cihangir or Nisantasi
Single fare TRY 46.20 Full fare on the Istanbulkart, from 20 July 2026, up from TRY 42
Coworking day pass TRY 1,249 A Regus hot desk for a day, its lowest Istanbul price. Kolektif House and Impact Hub prices were not found
Coworking monthly Price not checked Regus offers unlimited access from TRY 209 a person a day, but only on a 24-month contract. No monthly hot-desk rate was found
Coffee Price not checked No price source was found

Paperwork

Can you legally stay?

Minimum income USD 3,000 a month, or USD 36,000 a year. A flat dollar figure, not pinned to the minimum wage. The official application page confirms it in 2026
The threshold moves Not known. Nothing we reached says whether it is indexed or has changed since the visa launched in April 2024
Official name Digital Nomad Visa. You first get a Digital Nomad Identification Certificate, then the visa
Who can apply University graduates, which the official page confirms. Ages 21 to 55, from a listed country, according to EY in April 2024: the official page does not repeat these. The UK, the US, Canada, every EU country except Cyprus, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Russia, Ukraine and Belarus are on that list
Who qualifies Employees with a contract with a company outside Turkey, and freelancers on a business contract with one. Owners of a foreign company are not mentioned
Evidence Proof of income, the employment or business contract, a passport valid at least six months from arrival, a biometric photo and your degree. How many months of statements are needed is not stated
How to apply Register at goturkiye.com/digitalnomads and upload scans of the documents for the certificate. Then apply at a Turkish consulate or visa centre, or at a Presidency of Migration Management office if you are already in Turkey
How long Not checked. We found no source for the first permit's length or for renewal
The other route A short-term residence permit, usually for a year at first and renewable for up to two. File renewals at least 60 days before expiry. Tourist-purpose permits have been treated more strictly in Istanbul since 2022
Permanent residence Long-term residence after 8 years of continuous legal residence, with no single absence over 12 months. Whether nomad time counts is not known
Citizenship Naturalisation after 5 years of continuous residence
Without a visa British ordinary passports: 90 days in any 180, for tourism only. BN(O) and other British passport types need a visa. American passports: 90 days in any 180, and no e-visa is needed any more
Tax residency More than six months in a calendar year. A legal home in Turkey, or an intention to settle, makes you resident whatever your days

Where to live

Where to base yourself

  • Kadikoy and Moda

    Rent not checked

    On the Asian side, with a weekly language exchange on Moda Caddesi

    The catch One of the two districts pushing Istanbul's average rent up most, according to the Central Bank index, as reported by gzt.com/NTV, June 2026

  • Beyoglu (Sishane and Cihangir)

    Rent not checked

    On the European side, with a Kolektif House coworking site in Sishane

    The catch We found no downside specific to the district. GOV.UK warns that pickpocketing and street robbery are common in Istanbul's tourist areas

  • Besiktas

    1+1 from about TRY 25,000 a month, TRY 50,000 to 60,000 in newer buildings

    On the European side. Why people choose it is not checked yet

    The catch With Kadikoy, one of the two districts pushing Istanbul's average rent up most, according to the Central Bank index, as reported by gzt.com/NTV, June 2026

Timing

The best time to come

  • Jan 9.6C, 16 rain days
  • Feb 10.2C, about 14 rain days
  • Mar 12.4C, still wet
  • Apr 17.4C, rain easing
  • May 22.3C, 7.5 rain days
  • Jun 27.1C, dry
  • Jul 29.7C, driest month
  • Aug 29.7C, hot, little rain
  • Sep 25.9C, still dry
  • Oct 20.6C, rain returning
  • Nov 16.1C, wetter, 11 rain days
  • Dec 11.8C, wettest, 99mm

Come now Fine Avoid

April to June, September and October, on the weather alone: highs of 17 to 27 degrees and fewer rain days. July and August average 29.7 degrees, with about 3.5 rain days and around 22 to 24mm of rain. December to February are grey and wet, with 14 to 16 rain days a month, and December is the wettest at 99mm. The averages are from MGM, Turkey's met service, for 1950 to 2025. We have no checked figures for the busiest tourist months or when prices peak.

55 Mbps Typical download

Connectivity

The internet, honestly

That is Istanbul's average fixed download from Speedtest data for August 2024, reported by Teyit. Turkey as a whole was 42.90 Mbps. It is an old figure and an average, not a median.

Ask the landlord in writing what connection the flat has and how fast it is before you sign, and test it on a video call in your first days. For a day of calls, a coworking desk is the safer bet.

Somewhere to work

Coworking in Istanbul

Browse every space in the directory

Work

Remote roles open to someone in Turkey

A remote job is not in any one city. These are roles whose employer will hire someone living here, pulled from the board as you load the page.

See every role open to this region

Eating

What to eat, and what it costs

  • Simit

    TRY 30

    The sesame bread ring sold from bakeries and street stands. Up from TRY 25 on 26 September 2026

  • Esnaf lokantasi

    Price not checked

    The tradesmen's canteen, for a cheap cooked weekday lunch

Days off

Worth a Saturday

  • Hagia Sophia

    EUR 25 for foreign visitors

    A working mosque again. Foreign visitors pay to reach the gallery floor with its Byzantine mosaics. The fee dates from January 2024. Turkish citizens coming to pray go free

  • Topkapi Palace

    Reported at USD 64.63

    The Ottoman sultans' palace above the Golden Horn. The figure is from a June 2026 comparison of the world's top attractions, not the museum's own list

  • Basilica Cistern

    Price not checked

    The sunken Byzantine water cistern. The state foundations directorate took it over from the city in June 2026 after a court ruling

The rest

Things the other guides leave out

  • Carry your passport

    Carrying photo ID is a legal requirement. Police do ID checks, especially in Istanbul. A residence permit also counts

  • Careful what you post

    Online comments can be prosecuted as insulting the nation, the flag, the President or Ataturk, with 6 months to 3 years in prison

  • Watch the spirits

    Methanol poisoning from counterfeit or illicit spirits has killed people, including in Istanbul

  • Large dollar notes may be refused

    Banks may refuse USD 50 and USD 100 bills because of counterfeits

  • It is an earthquake zone

    A magnitude 6.2 earthquake in the Sea of Marmara in April 2025 was felt strongly in Istanbul

  • Do not buy antiquities

    Buying or exporting antiquities carries 5 to 12 years in prison

Work out whether you can actually afford to go

Every role on the board says which countries you can live in and still take it, so remote means remote.

Browse the jobs

Every figure on this page was checked on 15 Oct 2026. Prices move and rules change; tell us when something is wrong and we will fix it.

Photo: Benh LIEU SONG (Flickr), CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons